Introducing AMACOM… Rosemary

Next in our series of introducing AMACOM employees is Rosemary Carlough, Vice President of Sales and Marketing. She started back in [unspecified date ;)] doing direct marketing when AMACOM had a monthly print newsletter, which was like a mini-catalog. Now she walks around the office to make sure we are doing our jobs.

Rosemary considers running from us and starting her own Internet business.

Rosemary considers running from us and starting her own Internet business.

What were you doing before you joined AMACOM?

Before I joined AMA I was finishing my MBA at Boston University.

What are some of your responsibilities as Vice President of Sales and Marketing?

I manage all of AMACOM’s marketing department, which includes creative, PR, trade sales, and our rights department. More directly, I work on BookBlast our monthly e-newsletter. Andy Ambraziejus and I also manage all the ebook and econtent distribution and are now working with over a dozen other companies. It’s nice to see this area growing. There has been a lot of hype, but a few of the business models and tools are really now catching on.

What are the big challenges you face in your job?

One of the biggest challenges is the daily deluge of email. Our fulfillment system is outsourced and I’m the project manager. So whenever there is an issue, I am copied on the email. When we moved to this system it was an enormous time sink, but it’s pretty stable now. Prioritizing what I do each day is a challenge. I try to keep the folks in AMACOM apprised of how the books they have worked so hard on are selling. We have some good tools for that which our business manager has made easy to use. I want us to spend our time on the books which have the best chance to success in the marketplace. And I’m always on the lookout for new sources of income. Our print-on-demand and ebook programs are examples of that.

What book are you really excited about right now?

We just published Fitness After 40 and I’ve been doing a number of the exercises. It’s a really good book and we’d all like to be in as good shape as the author. We have a number of titles on our spring list that I’m excited about. It’s hard to choose. We’re doing a new edition of our best-seller People Styles at Work called People Styles at Work… And Beyond. With all the diversity in the workplace, I think this book is much needed and will get a great reception in the marketplace.

What book are you reading at the moment?

I took a break after my last book and just finished all the back issues of The New Yorker including an interesting profile of Barney Frank.

What book do you want everyone to discover?

I recently finished Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali. I’ve been telling everyone I know to read it. The author is an amazing survivor. She is a Somali and her book is a compelling memoir of growing up Muslim in an Islamic culture. And, from the time she was a little girl, she didn’t feel that women were treated fairly in that culture. Read the book.

Final words?

Reading will change, but books will never really die. Compelling stories will continue to draw people in. I just saw one of our books on an iphone. Very cool. But, I still like physical books better than my Kindle.

12 responses to “Introducing AMACOM… Rosemary

  1. This was fun to read about one of the special people at AMACOM and to put a face with a voice.

  2. And what’s that you’re holding, Rosemary?

    Great choice! LOL.

    Thanks very much for your help with my books.

    Scott Fox

  3. Pingback: Introducing AMACOM… Barry « AMACOM Books Blog

  4. Pingback: Introducing AMACOM… Andy « AMACOM Books Blog

  5. Pingback: AMACOM at Frankfurt Book Fair 2009 « AMACOM Books Blog

  6. Pingback: BookExpo America Survival Tips from AMACOM | AMACOM Books Blog

  7. Pingback: Guest Post: Rosemary on the Triumphs and Frustrations of Metadata | AMACOM Books Blog

  8. Pingback: Rosemary on Selling Content by Chapter | AMACOM Books Blog

  9. Pingback: Rosemary on eBook Sales | AMACOM Books Blog

  10. Pingback: Rosemary on eBooks and Book Clubs | AMACOM Books Blog

  11. Pingback: Introducing AMACOM… Aseem | AMACOM Books Blog

  12. Pingback: Dispatches from the Frankfurt Book Fair 2015 | AMACOM Books Blog

Leave a Reply

