Early Trade Buzz: Why Boys Fail by Richard Whitmire

One of our new titles, Why Boys Fail: Saving Our Sons from an Educational System That’s Leaving Them Behind by Richard Whitmire, has been attracting some early trade buzz that we wanted to share with you.

“Sound advice—recommended for parents, educators, and others advocating for innovation and flexibility in their educational situations.” –-Library Journal

“Whitmire, a highly respected former USA Today education writer, creates a thorough, thought-provoking look at the increasing achievement gap between boys and girls…This engaging read, reminiscent of a highly polished op-ed piece, offers arguments that could be used by librarians, social workers, teachers, and other youth advocates to fund literacy and related programs for boys.” —Voya Magazine

“Unless educators and parents recognize that boys are in trouble and give them the help they need, the scenario that Whitmire outlines in the book may come true: ‘One day, possibly soon, thousands of mothers—mothers with sons struggling in school or daughters unable to find ‘marriageable mates’—will wonder why the gender gaps were ever considered controversial.” —ForeWord Reviews

Thank you to all the great reviewers and publications!

2 responses to “Early Trade Buzz: Why Boys Fail by Richard Whitmire

  1. If It’s About Bradley, I Don’t Want To Hear It

    I’m a real parent. The type you don’t get everyday. I put time, energy, and money into mine. My child knows he is number one in my life. You’d better believe I will protect him.

    The school called today. Said Bradley hit a kid, tripped him, and broke the kid’s arm. I went directly to the school. My darling sat in the principal’s office.

    “They hate me mother!” he whined, “I didn’t do it. I promise I didn’t.”

    I spoke to the principal. “Yes, I’ll take him home, if that will make you leave him alone. He needs a vacation anyway. Yeah, right, I don’t see the other kid’s parents. Where are they? Just me and Bradley sitting up in here. I’m sorry but I see a red flag.”

    On our drive home, I assured Bradley that I cared. We stopped at Baskin Robbins for his treat. He never does his chores nor does he listen to me, but that’s because he has ADD. His suspension ended, and the school bus picked him up.

    The school called. Said he fought the other children and then threw bricks through the windows on the bus shattering the glass. The kids are afraid of him. He can no longer ride. I went to the school. Bradley sat, again, in the principal’s office. “I didn’t do it mother,” he stammered.

    “I know you didn’t Bradley. I hate this school.” I let them have it too. I said, “Look, I’ve had it with the educational system! Forget the shattered glass. I pay taxes. Replace the glass with that. And by the way, Bradley didn’t do it. It’s always about Bradley down here. That what’s wrong with the school system today. Too many people focusing on insignificant things. I send my son to school to learn, but obviously you’re not teaching him. He can’t even read. Stop harassing my son before I see you in court. I pay taxes. My son suffers from ADD. What will it take for you to get off of me? Leave Bradley alone. Don’t call me anymore. If It’s About Bradley, I Don’t Want to Hear It. What about his grades? His grades reflect your hatred toward him. You’re not doing your job. What! My responsibility. Look! Lady, you wouldn’t have a job if you didn’t have kids. I pay you to teach Bradley—not to instruct me.”

    I could barely talk above Bradley’s screams. I turned to him. “Bradley, stop screaming. I’m here to protect you. Leave the screaming to me.” Now back to you Ms. Principal. “And further more, I’m totally frustrated. Look at what you’ve done to me, and I’m an adult. I can defend myself and Bradley. No, It Is You. I don’t mind taking him home, if that’s what it takes for you to leave him alone. No! No! No! If It’s About Bradley, I Don’t Want To Hear It.”

    Today Bradley is over 50. He never left home because he couldn’t keep a job busting suds. The people were too hard on him. Expected more than Bradley could give. Thank God he doesn’t have to pay bills. I do wish he would keep his room clean, cook, and do his own laundry.

    Crap! As they say, there is no fool like an old fool. Bradley is actually cruel. I wish I could send him to school. He is unrelenting.

    Thinking back, instead of saying, ‘If It’s About Bradley, I Don’t Want to Hear It,’ I should have done to Bradley what he did to that school bus.

    Vivian Dixon Sober
    © All Rights Reserved

  2. Sacramento Book Review says:
    February 13, 2010 at 4:46 am

    //Why Boys Fail: Saving Our Sons from an Educational System That’s Leaving Them Behind// authored by Richard Whitmire proclaims a problem in school systems nationwide. Boys are not making the grades. These boys become disciplinary problems and get suspended to avoid the embarrassment of anyone knowing that they can not read or write.

    According to this research, these are not just poor minority boys. Many of them have affluent parents and some even work as professionals in educational institutions and their boys are included in a system that is failing. Why are the girls making the grades? Excuses such as “Boys will be boys” must end.

    What are we going to do? Keep the boys on medication for attention deficit hyperactivity disorders. Many of these boys drop out of school by the ninth grade. This problem has caused colleges to become the new high schools.

    //Why Boys Fail: Saving Our Sons from an Educational System That’s Leaving Them Behind// presents frustration on many levels. This book makes you quizzical. Has the educational system really failed the boys? Have parents placed too much responsibility on the school system? What about the boys, your boys, your sons?

    Reviewed by Vivian Dixon Sober
    Rating: 5 / 5

Leave a Reply

