Alesia Latson and Rosemary Tator on Time Management

The following is a guest post by Alesia Latson and Rosemary Tator, authors of More Time For You: A Powerful System to Organize Your Work and Get Things Done (AMACOM, August 2010), and time management experts.

“Summertime and the Living is Easy” – Really?

Isn’t that the way it’s supposed to be – kicking back, lounging in the sun, reading on a hammock, attending outdoor concerts, lobster bakes and barbecues, biking, kayaking, romantic walks on the beach at night…? I found myself saying, “Wow. That sounds great.”

Then it hit me. Summer is already half over and I have all these things I want to do. How was I going to do it all? I laid open my calendar to see where I could find time. Then that old familiar voice of scarcity crept in, saying “What happened to the summer? There’s no time to do the things I really want to do. I’m booked already.” In the space of seconds, instead of thinking about what I really wanted to do and making the time to set it up, there I was ruminating about how I was going to have to settle for less because there just wasn’t enough time for me.

Does this sound familiar? What’s your version of “How the summer should be”? Is it happening, at least some of it? Or, are you already settling for less or letting your summer be filled responding to others.
It’s not too late! There are another 8-10 weeks of summer left. Schedule the time now to begin creating the rest of your summer. Even 10 minutes of planning will make a difference, so you don’t end up on September 30th saying “Where’d my summer go?”

For me it’s about having balance – and balance doesn’t mean equal time to each area of my life. But it does mean taking the time to see if I am fulfilling my interests, desires, and goals in the important areas of my life.
One of the simplest ways I’ve found to make sure that I’m paying attention to the areas of my life I want to impact is to list them:

– Time with Friends
– Time with Family
– Time to Relax – read books
– Time for gardening and house projects
– Time for The Red Sox
– Time for those work projects that I want to complete: get our new website designed….
– Time for Spouse/Partner

So what do you want to fill your calendar with over the next two months? What can you add, delete, create that will be most fulfilling?

Now, other stuff will probably come to mind unrelated to these questions. Write those things down also, so you can do something with them and get them off your mind. If you’re on a roll and want to write for 20 minutes or longer, go for it. When you’re done, look at what you wrote. Think about what you say is really important in your life and use that as your filter. Now, which of these items will make the biggest difference to you? Which one(s) will light your lights? Choose those items – Get out your calendar and schedule them.
And, while you’re at it, open your calendar to September 30th and write this down: “It’s been a fantastic summer. I am so glad I took the time this year to Make More Time for Me.

Rosemary Tator as Principal Partner of 2beffective™ LLC, helps clients increase effectiveness while reducing stress.

Alesia Latson as Principal of the Latson Leadership Group, helps executives at all levels to expand their management and leadership effectiveness.

They are co-authors of More Time For You: A Powerful System to Organize Your Work and Get Things Done.

And now for the giveaway! The first five people to leave a comment below can win a copy of Real-World Time Management, Second Edition.

3 responses to “Alesia Latson and Rosemary Tator on Time Management

  1. I’d love to read this! Maybe I’ll have time this winter? :) Nice to see more books written towards reclaiming our time; it’s a step in the right direction for our society…

  2. There is never enough time in the day to accomplish everything I’d like. I would love to have the opportunity to read the book, and see what the authors suggest. I have read an adaptation of some of their work regarding the ability to say “no” and have found that to be very useful.

    Thank you

  3. Pingback: Having trouble finding time for improvement? Try saying “no”. | The Career Forge

Leave a Reply

