Introducing AMACOM… Lynsey

Photo of Lynsey Major

Lynsey shows off two international translations.

Continuing the “Introducing AMACOM” series is Rights & International Sales Associate Lynsey Major.

What were you doing before you joined AMACOM?

I grew up just outside of Memphis. After graduating from Rhodes College, I moved to Knoxville to attend the English grad program at University of Tennessee. In 2009 I thought the economy could really use a person with an advanced degree in English so I made the journey to New York and began interning at AMACOM.

What are some of your responsibilities as Rights & International Sales Associate?

Essentially I grease the wheels of the Rights Department by maintaining our records. I keep track of contracts, advances, royalty statements, submissions, translations, and rights’ reversions.

I also have the privilege of corresponding with agents and publishers from around the world who are interested in the rights to AMACOM titles. Last year I was able to meet many of them at the Frankfurt Book Fair.  It really is wonderful to work with so many dedicated and helpful agents and publishers.

What are some of the challenges of your job?

So much data! It takes a great degree of focus and attention to detail to keep our records up to date and accurate.

What AMACOM book are you really excited about right now?

Jacket image, Lead with a Story by Paul SmithI am excited about Lead with a Story by Paul Smith, which garnered a lot of attention in Frankfurt.  Do you know why I live on Excel? Because I can’t remember so much minutiae.  Smith says you probably won’t remember any of it either if the information isn’t presented in a compelling manner. Thus, the importance of the story.  Some of America’s leading companies are using storytelling in their businesses to drive sales, make memorable presentations, and motivate employees.

What book are you reading at the moment?

Jacket image, Pym: A Novel by Mat JohnsonThe Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket by Edgar Allen Poe. Why now you ask? Because I want to read Pym: A Novel by Mat Johnson and assumed I should have working knowledge of the original.

Prior to this, I finished The Big Short by Michael Lewis. Perhaps, just as terrifying as the Poe novel.

Which book do you want everyone to discover?

Lolita by Valdimir Nabokov
The Twenty-Seventh City by Jonathan Franzen
A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote

These may not be discoveries since they are well-known books by well-known authors, but they are some of my favorites. And I haven’t read anything that I didn’t like by Ian McEwan, Gary Shetyngart, or Jane Austen.

What would you be doing if you weren’t a Rights & International Sales Associate at AMACOM?

I would most likely be a teacher because I am a nerd.     And nerds are sort of like cultists because we really think other people should share our interests with the same level of fanaticism.  So if I were not here, I would be staring down a class of 13-year-olds wondering why they are not more revved up about the Oxford comma.

Final words?

I cannot say enough good things about AMACOM.  I get to work with kind and intelligent people every day, and that makes all the difference in the world.

Thank you Lynsey! Read more “Introducing AMACOM” posts here.

Earlier:
Lynsey on Beach Reads as Diverse as Grains of Sand
Celebrating the Cover Art of AMACOM’s Translated Editions

One response to “Introducing AMACOM… Lynsey

  1. As a fellow nerd who gets revved up about the Oxford comma, I enjoyed this post. I’ll take some of your book recommendations!

Leave a Reply

