Introducing AMACOM… Aseem

Photo of Aseem Kulkarni, AMACOM Books Sales & Marketing Associate

Aseem is looking forward to filling up his bookshelf with our Spring and Summer books!

Next in the “Introducing AMACOM” series is Sales & Marketing Associate Aseem Kulkarni. Aseem joined AMACOM is October 2011.

What were you doing before you joined AMACOM?

Previously, I was working at the academic publisher, Continuum, in London as a Sales and Marketing Assistant. Before that, I was studying for my undergraduate degree in Art History at the University of Edinburgh. Living in the UK for the past 5 years has given me a wealth of new experience that I am excited to bring to AMACOM.

What are some of your responsibilities as Sales and Marketing Associate?

I have a number of duties between our trade sales and marketing. I regularly communicate and work with our sales representatives across the country to ensure that they receive regular media updates for all our titles, receiving finished copies of our books, and sending out regular sales reports. I also assist our Director of Trade Sales and Marketing with preparation for upcoming sales conferences, titling meetings for upcoming books, and competitive book research.

One of the more fascinating responsibilities I have is helping to manage our eBooks program. I prepare payment reports from our several eBook distributors such as Amazon and Google. I find these responsibilities to be of great interest, particularly since the media landscape is changing so rapidly and everything is moving from the physical to the digital.

What are the big challenges you face in your job?

I would say the two big challenges are helping to manage our eBooks programs and keeping up with new trends in business book publishing.

Since my previous experience has been with academic and trade fiction/non-fiction book publishing, understanding business book publishing is keeping me on my toes. From titling, to jacket copy and artwork, it’s a whole other ballgame.

As I said before, working with AMACOM’s eBooks is both exciting and challenging. We have a number of different distributors and as the pace towards e-reading continues, those accounts will only become more important.

What book are you really excited about right now?

Jacket image, In the Shadow of the Dragon by Winter Nie and William DowellI am very excited for our upcoming book In the Shadow of the Dragon by Winter Nie and William Dowell. While I was in Edinburgh, I studied Chinese language and history for two years. At the time I became really interested in watching Chinese films, books, and getting more insight into what makes their culture so different from the rest of the world. This book will be taking a different approach by taking a closer look at Chinese companies going global in markets such as technology and energy.

What book are you reading at the moment?

Jacket image, A World on Fire by Amanda ForemanI just started a book on the American civil war called A World on Fire: Britain’s Crucial Role in the American Civil War by Amanda Foreman. Since I spent so much time away from the US, I thought that it would be nice to dive back into reading about American history. The book gives a great insight into Britain’s dependence on Southern goods like cotton and how their involvement might have dramatically changed the result of the Civil War. It also goes into detail about how European intervention has shaped the culture and politics of the US as we know it today.

The Civil War has always been of great interest to me, because certain issues such as the North and South cultural divide still resonate to this day. Since I was born and raised in Houston and am now living in New York, I get the occasional tease for being the Southerner.

What book do you want everyone to discover?

Jacket image, The Book Thief by Marcus ZusakOne of my favourite books of all time is The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. I read this while I was travelling in Vienna and Prague. It is a story of a young girl who falls in love with reading and books in the backdrop of Nazi Germany. One of the most interesting points is that many of the chapters are told from the point of view of Death. Beware, the ending is very sad and it did not help that I was in a café where The Scientist by Coldplay was playing.

Final words?

In the words of The Terminator, “I’ll be back”. That is, I’ll be writing another blog post.

Thanks Aseem! Read more “Introducing AMACOM” posts here.

Leave a Reply

