Hank Shares Book Recommendations for Young Job Seekers

The following is a guest post from President and Publisher Hank Kennedy.

A number of my friends’ children have returned home after graduating college, and I have suddenly become in demand for career advice. It always turns out to be a lot of work for me since I want the best for them.

It is really no different now than it was when I graduated; except we went out into the world and got an apartment and there were jobs available on every corner.  As I talk to these new graduates, I am amazed at their enthusiasm. Those who have been interns are definitely  a step ahead in the job hunt.  They have some idea about what they want to do.

I put a list of 5 books together to help them and to make my life easier.

Jacket image, Focal PointFocal Point: A Proven System to Simplify Your Life, Double Your Productivity and Achieve All Your Goals, by Brian Tracy helps readers analyze their lives and shows them how to develop focused goals and plans in each. It provides timeless truths that answer questions like: How can I get control of my time and my life? How can I achieve maximum career success and still balance my personal life? How can I accelerate the achievement of all my goals?

Unbeatable Resumes: America’s Top Recruiter Reveals What Really Gets You Hired, by Tony Beshara explains what employers look for, what turns them off, how to customize a resume for a particular job, and how to tailor a cover letter, so that graduates can start their job search with the best resume possible.

Jacket image, Acing the InterviewAcing the Interview: How to Ask and Answer the Questions That Will Get You the Job, by Tony Beshara takes readers through the entire process, from the initial interview to evaluating a job offer, and even into salary negotiation, in a no-nonsense, take-no-prisoners guide to interview success.

Jacket image, I Got My Dream Job And So Can YouI Got My Dream Job and So Can You: 7 Steps to Creating Your Dream Job After College, by Pete Leibman provides good advice for deciding what kind of job or career to pursue, and how to network and make connections to land their dream job.

Jacket image, Just ListenJust Listen: Discover the Secret to Getting Through to Absolutely Everyone, by Mark Goulston. No matter what career they want for themselves, communicating well and listening are the most important skills young job seekers can build.

These books made me look smart since they all help them focus.  I don’t expect the new grads to read these books word for word, but if they are serious about getting into the business world, this is a good start.

It is now August, and they are starting to get interviews. And in a few cases, job offers.

It puts a big smile on my face and I know their parents have one also, for many reasons.

Hank Kennedy is the President and Publisher of AMACOM Books. He has over 40 years of experience in the book publishing industry, as editor, sales rep, Vice President at Prentice Hall, and finally our boss here.

Earlier Posts:
Hank Shares John Locke on the Book Business
Steve Jobs’ Favorite Poem: Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night by Dylan Thomas

Leave a Reply

