How to Make Your Editor Love You

The following is a guest post from Executive Editor Christina Parisi.

It’s not hard to make your editor and publisher love you. Here are 5 simple things you can do:

  1. Deliver what you promise. When we contract with you, our contract is based on your proposal and any changes or discussions we have prior to the contract. Don’t make significant changes to the book, the concept, or style of writing without checking with us. You would be surprised how many times I get manuscripts that are drastically different from what I contracted for. My favorite was receiving a fiction manuscript when I was expecting a non-fiction business book. The author said, “I was writing the book and thought it was kind of boring. So I thought I would make it read like The Firm and let the reader extrapolate the lessons.” While it was very interesting to read, it wasn’t something I could sell and ended up rejecting the manuscript. Don’t let this happen to you.
  2. Don’t hide bad news.  If you’re running late, let me know as soon as you realize it. Don’t assume you’ll be able to catch up the week before it is due. If you give me enough time we can adjust schedules and promotions on our end. If you wait until the day it’s due before letting me know you haven’t started it, you are damaging our ability to sell the book. We will lose orders.
  3. Keep me in the loop. If you are having trouble getting the interviews you thought you’d get, or permission for that super cool photo you wanted to include in the book, let me know. Often I can help.
  4. Check in periodically. This is especially important when you have major changes to your platform or you travel frequently. We send updates about your platform to our  sales reps and accounts so that they can promote your book better.
  5. Check your expectations against reality. There are a lot of misconceptions about what publishers do. If you have questions, please ask. That’s what I am here for as your editor.

Christina Parisi is an Executive Editor at AMACOM Books and the Director of AMA Self-Studies. She has been with AMACOM for 14 years and acquires books in management, leadership, training, HR, and general business. For submission guidelines, see our website.

Related Posts:
How to Make Your Publicist Love You
Author Tips: 10 Turn-Offs for an Editor Reading Your Book Proposal

Leave a Reply

