Introducing AMACOM… Kristen Zehner

The latest installment in our “Introducing AMACOM…” series comes from Kristen Zehner, an intern who will be working with Marketing and Publicity through the summer.

Photo of Kristen Zenner, intern at AMACOMWhat were you doing before you joined AMACOM?

I’m going to be a senior at Binghamton University next year, pursuing a dual degree of a Bachelor of Arts in English and a Bachelor of Science in Management with a concentration in Marketing. I spent the beginning of my summer tutoring students for their finals and Regents Exams and relaxing with family and friends.

What have you learned thus far as an intern at AMACOM?

In the few short weeks that I’ve been here I’ve learned how to navigate the city and the transportation systems, which was probably my greatest challenge as a Long Island native. In the office I’ve learned more about publishing than I even knew there was to learn! I now understand how complicated it is to find an apt title for a book. I can comprehend the struggles of editors as they try to balance the goals of AMACOM and the authors. I learned to use a space- age coffee machine to keep the ideas flowing and my eyes open.

Jacket image, Marketing to Millennials by Jeff Fromm and Christie GartenWhat books are you currently reading or are you interested in reading?

I recently picked up some of the old books I last read in middle school, namely the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer and the Pendragon series by D.J. McHale. These books bring me back to my youth and let my mind wander on the train ride home, so I pay less attention to the snoring gentlemen leaning on my shoulder. After college started I associated reading with textbooks and anxiety, but since the beginning of this internship, I’ve discovered that I still love to read, as long as nobody is telling me I have to. Next on my reading list is Marketing to Millennials, because it addresses the challenges of my generation as a target market. I find it interesting how technology has changed the nature of advertising on a wide scale and has transformed the world of marketing.

What comes next after AMACOM?

At the end of August I have to return to Binghamton, about 3 hours upstate from the city. While I look forward to starting my senior year I acknowledge that quite soon I’ll have to transition to the adult world, which is pretty intimidating. Courses I’ll be taking this fall include market research, marketing strategy, managerial accounting, and medieval literature. I’m excited to finish up my English degree first semester and be able to focus solely on my marketing concentration during my final semester.

Thank you, Kristen!

One response to “Introducing AMACOM… Kristen Zehner

  1. Barry Richardson

    I would hold off on transitioning to the adult world for as long as you can, Kristen!

Leave a Reply

