A Day in the Life of a Publicity & Social Media Manager – Part 1

6 a.m.
Well before my alarm rings, my eyes are wide open. I tend to be an earlier riser, which can be helpful if your job includes being on top of the news of the day. Over a cup of coffee, I turn on my Nexus tablet and begin scanning headlines on The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times apps.

6:15 a.m.
By now my laptop is powered up, and I’ve switched over to a browser there to look through my Feedly account. I scan through publishing, social media marketing, SEO, journalism, and some business blogs. I find several articles that would be of interest to AMACOM’s Twitter followers, and schedule posts through Hootsuite. I also find a couple articles I’d like to post to my own Twitter account, and schedule those through Buffer.

6:45 a.m.
I’ve switched over to my personal email and am scanning top stories from the previous day from a number of publicity, social media, and media focused blogs I’ve opted to get daily emails from. I meant to read these yesterday, but didn’t get to it.

7:00 a.m.
My clock radio turns on, and I listen to NPR’s Morning Edition as I look at a weather app on my phone before deciding what to wear.

7:25 a.m.
I look at my work iPhone to check email and see if there’s anything that will need my immediate attention at the office. Today there’s nothing urgent, just the usual requests for books, a routine question from an author about his website, and a few newsletters I did not sign-up for. I keep the newsletters to mark as spam when I get in to the office.

7:45 a.m.
Breakfast is waffles slathered with peanut butter and honey drizzled on top and a mango. I turn off the radio and turn on the TV to watch (or rather, listen) to a bit of morning TV before I head in to the office. Though my preference is to listen to radio in the mornings, as a publicist I need to be familiar with the different network and cable channel programs. Today CBS This Morning wins.

Photo of New York City subway station.

Platforms are never this empty during rush hour. Photo credit: Edward Blake on Flickr.

8:15 a.m. I’m out the door to catch a bus to the train. If I’m lucky enough to get a seat on the bus, I’ll read a book for the 15 minute bus ride. Nuts! It’s packed to the gills today. Why? School is out for the summer! I spend 15 minutes clinging to a pole and standing uncomfortably close to other bus riders. Rinse and repeat as I transfer to the subway.

9:10 a.m.
I’m at the office and log on to Facebook. I’m prompted to change to a new design for AMACOM’s Facebook page. I see that we’ll be switched over automatically in another two weeks, so I figure why not? Immediately after switching it’s clear the cover photo our Creative Director just made for the new season no longer works. I send an email asking for a redesign of the cover photo.

9:30 a.m.
I head in to the monthly production meeting. We go over all the titles currently in production, and I keep an eye out to make sure I’m clear on when galleys are expected in, when books will be done at the printer, and see if anything has slipped. Everything seems on schedule.

10:30 a.m.
I tackle my inbox. I reply to some author questions, mark those spammy emails, and get back to a magazine editor about an excerpt.

11 a.m.
I pull out a galley that arrived a day earlier. I read through the Author Questionnaire, sales kit, author website, and catalog copy before taking a dive in to the book. After that, I spend about 30 minutes writing and revising a letter to magazine editors.

12:15 p.m.
Lunch is the gym. For the next 45 minutes I’m all about compound exercises as I squat, crunch, curl, and press my way to a stronger body.

Come back tomorrow, to read the exciting conclusion to A Day in the Life of a Publicity & Social Media Manager!

Related Posts:
Introducing AMACOM…Kama
How to Make Your Book Publicist Love You

 

Leave a Reply

