A Day in the Life of a Publicity & Social Media Manager – Part 2

Read Part 1 here.

1:30 p.m.
My colleagues in the Publicity Department have been monitoring our social media accounts throughout the day, so I haven’t been stressed about not getting on until now. As I eat soup and salad at my desk, I roll through Facebook, Twitter, Google+, and LinkedIn, checking to see if we have any questions, comments, likes, +1s, or favorites. I look through our streams and newsfeeds to see what others are talking about in business and publishing. Everything seems under control, and I don’t see any hashtags to participate in today. I’m a little disappointed because those can be a lot of fun.

2 p.m.
I reopen that galley letter from earlier, and read through it again. I make some tweaks and then close it. I’ll give it another read tomorrow before printing copies.

2:30 p.m.
I begin building a list of editors at monthly magazines and publishing trades to send bound galleys to.

3:15 p.m.
I open up another media list in our database for a book that is publishing in about four months. It’s time to do some follow-up to the magazines I sent bound galleys to. I craft individualized emails to the editors and writers, highlighting angles and information that would be especially relevant to their audience. I opt to call two writers I have especially strong relationships with, but get voice mail.

4 p.m.
An editor emails a response to my pitch, and says she wants to schedule an interview with the author next week! I quickly coordinate with the author and schedule the interview.

4:30 p.m.
It’s back to my inbox. Though I monitor it all day for media requests, I try to limit the time I spend responding to all other emails to a couple of chunks of time each day. Right now I answer some emails from authors and outside publicists. I see that a media update has been sent by a publicist an author hired to supplement AMACOM’s efforts. I note that since last week several radio programs have been scheduled, two blogs have requested and received a guest post, and an interview has been lined up with a writer at Forbes.com. I incorporate this information in to the overall publicity update for the book I’ll later send to marketing, sales, and editorial.

5 p.m.
After a long day, I’m happy to head out the door to go home.

7 p.m.
A publicist’s job doesn’t end when she leaves the office. Lately I’ve been watching a lot of Al Jazeera America, and want to watch more Real Money with Ali Velshi to get a better sense of the program’s focus and audience. I watch for about 10 minutes, but then dinner is ready and I decide to record the rest of the show to watch later.

9 p.m.
Now that dinner clean up is done, and I’ve enjoyed some down time, I turn on the DVR to watch the rest of Real Money.

9:30 p.m.
I turn off the TV, and my work day is officially over!

Related Posts:
Introducing AMACOM…Kama
How to Make Your Book Publicist Love You

 

Leave a Reply

