Introducing AMACOM … Lia

Next in the “Introducing AMACOM” series is Rights & International Sales Assistant Lia Ding. Welcome, Lia!

lia blog pic

Lia with a copy of Talking to Crazy and its audiobook edition

What did you do before you joined AMACOM in November?

I was a graduate student at NYU for a degree in publishing. During my time in school, I interned for Oxford University Press and Sterling Lord Literistic, working on the editorial side of children’s books at both. Before I came to New York, I grew up in Taiwan and then went to Japan for college.

What are some of your responsibilities as Rights & International Sales Assistant?

Basically, I keep track of everything, from contracts, royalties, payments, to options, translations, and rights’ reversions. And since we don’t have a contracts or a royalty department, I’m also responsible for drafting contracts and invoicing foreign publishers. The privilege of being at a smaller publisher is that you get to learn more and be exposed to various aspects of the industry!

My favorite part is corresponding with agents and publishers abroad who are interested in AMACOM titles. Whenever there’s a conversation started between my manager, Therese Mausser, and our clients around the world, I make sure it flows smoothly by getting them the material they need and follow-up regularly. I’m also going to the Frankfurt Book Fair this October, and I can’t wait to introduce our fabulous books to all the agents and publishers.

What are the big challenges you face in your job?

There are so many steps involved in each process. For example, when we receive a contract from another publisher, I log it in 4 different files,  record it in another 3 folders, draft email to author/agent/editor and save it for our record, and mail the contract back with sample copies (record that too!). It’s always good to review again to make sure I did not miss anything.

What AMACOM book are you most excited about right now?

I’m actually most excited about Talking to Crazy by Mark Goulston. Although it’s a title published before I joined AMACOM, we recently sold the Chinese (simplified)-language rights with a pretty good deal. And the audio edition of Talking to Crazy has just won an Earphones Award from Audiofile Magazine! The book teaches you how to deal with irrational and difficult people in our life with practical communication techniques. It’s useful to not only in business occasion but daily life as well.

What else have you been reading recently?

Currently:
In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware
Knife by Kiyoshi Shigematsu
Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
Before that I read:
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
Century Law by Muneki Yamada

What would you be doing if you weren’t in your position at AMACOM?

If I weren’t with AMACOM, you would still find me in publishing, most likely in children’s books.
If not, either working on something that’s “international” or working at a café of my own (filled with delicious home-made food and awesome books)!

Thanks, Lia! For more posts in our Introducing AMACOM series, please click here.

One response to “Introducing AMACOM … Lia

  1. Pingback: AMACOM Reads: Our Staff’s Summer 2016 Round-up! | AMACOM Books Blog

Leave a Reply

